Wissink6's Weblog

a place for friends and family

Fun in the kitchen

Today was learning day for our 3 youngest children. R is at work and already knows how to do these tasks .I have been working  with the younger ones lately for them to do more chores and do them properly. I admit I am a lazy mom when it comes to this . I don’t have enough patience in teaching them to do it properly so I end up doing it myself half way through. Tonight is stew for supper and the kids were begging to help so I figured  it was as good as time as any to teach them. C learned to peel  potatoes carrots and parsnips. B learned to peel potatoes and to clean up ALL the mess afterwards. M learned to peel carrots and put away the dishes nicely.We filled my big castiron dish and have it cooking in the oven .I know it is important for kids to work (we are all for childlabor in OUR house)and I want mine to have more responsibilities and a good work ethic.I also know that it is my job to teach them how to do it .Something I definalty need to take more time doing.I know they will not just become  teenagers doing it all right if I don’t first teach them .

Not sure if we will actually get to eat the stew tonight as Hubby is not feeling good and the DR. has suggested that we go to the ER.Hubby wanted a nap first and they said that is alright as long as he feels he can wait.

February 7, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 4 Comments